The Hawaiian Eye Foundation

The Hawaiian Eye Foundation’s Philip M. Corboy Memorial Award is presented yearly to “an ophthalmologist who typifies a career of excellence in service to his patients and peers…

…This award was established in 1986, the 7th year of the Royal Hawaiian Eye Meeting (RHEM), in honor of Dr. Corboy who served ophthalmology from 1933, when he started his first practice, until 1982, when he retired.”

Learn more about the PMC Award and the Hawaiian Eye Foundation.

Alan Faulkner, MD, from the Hawaiian Eye Foundation, presented Dr. Charles with the award.

“He is nothing short of a superman in ophthalmology for his field-altering advancements and leadership,” Faulkner said. “His techniques and devices have helped shape vitreoretinal surgery into what it is today.”

Read more of the interview at Healio.